Definitions

A suggestion for differentiating the different categories

Gamification (generic term)

Similar to 'Tempo', gamification has become a generic term for all possible and different implementations that have the game idea at their core. Since this leads to the fact that one does not really know what someone means exactly when he speaks of gamification, we have dared an attempt to define known categories for a more effective differentiation. This classification has helped us, especially in recent years, to find a common basis for discussion with customers and partners.

Definition Gamification:
Gamification is the application of game-typical elements in a non-game context.

Source: Wikipedia

Growth Gamification aims to adapt the framework of everyday work in such a way that the very behaviors that we seem to make so easily real in games, and which are surprisingly similar to the Growth Mindset, can be developed directly in the real workplace, product, service, or the like.

To do this, we listen to the most successful conditions where people can be their natural best, aka develop a Growth Mindset to improve less successful (work) environments, products, customer experiences and services.

At the same time, Growth Gamification explicitly refuses the approach of extrinsic motivation. Actions should therefore not be triggered by reward systems, or by the prospect of points, badges, competitions or feedback systems such as ranking lists and more.

In a serious game, the goal is for the player to automatically solve a real-world problem as they progress within a classic game. This is done by breaking down an issue that currently occupies us in real life to such an extent that complex issues are made easier to understand and thus accessible to everyone by adapting levels, rules, game elements and more.

The game Fold.it is probably a prime example here, which succeeded in making the scientifically highly complex and lengthy search for endogenous protein strands and their 'folding possibilities' so interesting that thousands of players took up the challenge and thus discovered folding combinations that science had been searching for for years.

Game-Based Learning (GBL for short) uses the product game as a tool to 'transport' content to be learned and to convey it to the player in a more entertaining, understandable and sustainable way through playful interaction.

One characteristic is often that the content to be learned has top priority. In case of doubt, the fun of the game has to be subordinated to this. You can also put it this way: In GBL, learning is the goal, while in a classic game, learning is actually only a means to an end and the fun of the game comes first.

A practical example of the category of GBL applications is represented by the game School of Dragons .

A simulation, in a corporate context, is a game that gives the player the freedom to tackle and test certain tasks within the simulation. This allows the person involved to fail even within this context, to learn from it and to try again without having to fear real consequences.

While up to this point the characteristics of a simulation and a serious game are the same, the difference between the two approaches ultimately lies in the desired business objective.

Serious games aim at finding solutions to real problems through the playful use of the users, which have not yet been found in the direct and real environment. It can therefore also be described as a kind of 'crowdsourcing tool'.

In a simulation, on the other hand, the game 'simulates' a real process that is unavoidable from the company's point of view. This means that the player of the simulation is trained to behave in a very specific way, or that individual skills are deliberately promoted.

Game-Based Marketing reveals the design secrets of successful games such as Farmville, World of Warcraft, Dota, Bejeweled and of course board games, card games to enable you to create profitable & game-like experiences on your website/apps.

Game-based marketing can manifest itself in different variants such as in-game advertising, advergames, serious games, reward programs and also Growth Gamification.

Share these definitions

Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on facebook
Facebook
en_USEnglish
Powered by TranslatePress »

Definitionen

Ein Vorschlag zur Differenzierung der vielfältigen Möglichkeiten

Gamification (Gattungsbegriff)

Ähnlich wie ‚Tempo‘ ist Gamification mittlerweile ein Gattungsbegriff geworden für alle möglichen und unterschiedlichen Umsetzungen, die den Spielgedanken im Kern tragen. Da dies dazu führt, dass man nicht wirklich weiß, was jemand nun genau meint wenn er von Gamification spricht, haben wir hier mal einen Versuch gewagt bekannte Kategorien zur effektiveren Differenzierung zu definieren. Diese Einteilung hat uns, speziell in den vergangenen Jahren, sehr dabei geholfen eine gemeinsame Diskussionsgrundlage mit Kunden und Partner zu finden.

Definition Gamification:
Als Gamification wird die Anwendung spieltypischer Elemente in einem spielfremden Kontext bezeichnet.

Quelle: Wikipedia

Growth Gamification zielt darauf ab die Rahmenbedingungen des Arbeitsalltags so anzupassen, dass eben diese Verhaltensweisen, die wir im Spiel scheinbar so leicht real werden lassen und die überraschender Weise stark dem Growth Mindset ähneln, direkt am realen Arbeitsplatz, Produkt, Service, o.ä. entfaltet werden können.

Dafür hören wir auf die erfolgreichsten Bedingungen, unter denen Menschen ihr natürliches Bestes geben können, aka ein Growth Mindset entwickeln, um weniger erfolgreiche (Arbeits-)Umgebungen, Produkte, Kundenerfahrungen und Dienstleistungen zu verbessern.

Gleichzeitig ‚verweigert‘ sich Growth Gamification explizit dem Ansatz der extrinsischen Motivation. Handlungen sollen somit keinesfalls durch Belohnungssysteme, bzw. durch in Aussicht gestellte Punkte, Badges, Gewinnspiele oder Feedbacksystemen wir Ranglisten und mehr getriggert werden.

Bei einem Serious Game zielt man darauf ab, dass der Spieler, während er innerhalb eines klassischen Spiels voranschreitet, automatisch ein reales Problem löst. Dies geschieht, indem man eine Fragestellung, die uns im realen Leben aktuell beschäftigt  soweit herunter bricht, dass man komplexe Sachverhalte durch die Anpassung an Level, Regeln, Spielelemente und mehr, leichter verständlich und somit für jedermann zugänglich macht.

Das Spiel Fold.it ist hier wohl ein Paradebeispiel, dem es gelang die wissenschaftlich hoch komplexe und langwierige Suche nach körpereigenen Proteinsträngen und ihre ‚Faltmöglichkeiten‘, so interessant zu gestalten, dass tausende von Spielern sich dieser Herausforderung annahmen und so Faltkombinationen entdeckten, auf deren Suche die Wissenschaft seit Jahren war.

Game-Based Learning (kurz: GBL) nutzt das Produkt Spiel als Tool, um zu lernende Inhalte zu ‘transportieren’ und dem Spieler diese durch spielerische Interaktion unterhaltsamer, verständlicher und nachhaltiger zu vermitteln.

Eine Charakteristik dabei ist oftmals, dass der zu lernende Inhalt oberste Priorität hat. Der Spielspaß hat sich, im Zweifelsfall, diesem unterzuordnen. Man kann es auch so ausdrücken: Bei GBL ist Lernen das Ziel, während bei einem klassischen Spiel Lernen eigentlich nur Mittel zum Zweck ist und der Spielspaß an erster Stelle steht.

Ein praktisches Beispiel für die Kategorie von GBL-Anwendungen stellt das Spiel School of Dragons dar.

Eine Simulation, im Unternehmenskontext, ist ein Spiel, das dem Spieler die Freiheit gibt innerhalb der Simulation bestimmte Aufgaben anzugehen und zu testen. Dies erlaubt der beteiligten Person auch innerhalb dieses Kontexts zu scheitern, daraus zu lernen und es erneut zu versuchen, ohne reale Konsequenzen befürchten zu müssen.

Während sich bis hierhin die Eigenschaften einer Simulation und eines Serious Games 1-zu-1 gleichen, besteht der Unterschied beider Ansätze letztendlich im gewünschten Unternehmensziel.

Bei Serious Games möchte man durch den spielerischen Einsatz der User auf Lösungsmöglichkeiten realer Probleme kommen, auf die man im direkten und realen Umfeld noch nicht gekommen war. Man kann es somit auch als eine Art ‚Crowdsourcing-Tool‘ bezeichnen.

Bei einer Simulation hingegen ’simuliert‘ das Spiel einen realen Ablauf, der aus Unternehmenssicht unumgänglich ist. Das heißt, dass der Spieler der Simulation auf ein ganz bestimmtes Verhalten hintrainiert, bzw. ganz bewusst individuelle Fähigkeiten gefördert werden sollen.

Game-Based Marketing enthüllt die Design-Geheimnisse von erfolgreichen Spielen wie Farmville, World of Warcraft, Dota, Bejeweled und natürlich auch Brettspielen, Kartenspielen, um Ihnen die Möglichkeit zu geben, gewinnbringende & spielähnliche Erfahrungen auf Ihrer Website/Apps zu schaffen.

Manifestieren kann sich Game Based Marketing in den unterschiedlichen Varianten wie In-Game Advertising, Advergames, Serious Games, Belohnungsprogramme und auch Growth Gamification.

Teile diese Definitionen

Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on facebook
Facebook
de_DEGerman
Powered by TranslatePress »