Growth Gamification Manifesto

Gamification has many 'faces'. It is defined as "the application of game mechanisms in a non-gaming context". This mistakenly suggests that it is about inventing classic games for the workplace or in a customer context.

But the term gamification is more of a mission statement, even a homage to the game - a medium that is highly successful in getting people emotionally excited and keeping them engaged over a long period of time. And it is a symbol for an activity that makes us lose more often than win. Almost like an enjoyable frustration.

Intention

We communicate all our experience to develop the original idea of gamification in the sense of intrinsically experienceable motivation and make it applicable.

We continuously develop Growth Gamification through complete transparency of our actions. We distance ourselves from an extrinsic approach to gamification that primarily aims at imposing an obvious game idea on existing conditions. 

Why?

Meanwhile, anything that has even the appearance of being playful falls under gamification. These approaches include serious games, game-based learning, simulations, workshop games, Lego serious play, gamification itself, and more. In our eyes, this catch-all of completely different approaches dilutes the original idea of gamification and takes away its unique appeal.

In our eyes, this collection of completely different approaches dilutes the original gamification idea and robs it of its unique appeal.

What?

Therefore, we have Growth Gamification as a term that defines a clearly definable gamification category:

Growth Gamification uses all the mechanisms that characterize intrinsically motivated activities such as play, sports & hobbies and applies them to real-world processes, products, programs and interactions.

But in doing so, we are not creating an artificial gaming environment, either digital or analog. Growth Gamification rather systematically learns from these most successful conditions under which people do their natural best to transfer them to less successful (work) environments, products, customer experiences or services and thus increase their attractiveness.

The goal of Growth Gamification is to enable people to - e.g. in their role as employee or customer - under these more emotional, more binding and self-challenging conditions, not only give their natural best, but can learn and experience progress from this/their best. Just like in the game, where he experiences the playful fascination through these very conditions.

How?

We do not want a separation between game and reality for the user.Rather, we want to use Growth Gamification to design situations - everyday life and the work environment as well as the handling of products and services - in such a way that the natural intrinsic desire to learn of every human being is constantly challenged in them. We believe that this is the easiest and most successful way for people to meet life's growing challenges.  zwischen Spiel und Realitiät entstehen. 

The 6 basic principles behind Growth Gamification

Growth Mindset Principle

Dynamic self-image.
No other situation is more effective at fostering a "growth mindset." There, we assume that we can always evolve and learn anything if we just put in enough work. "Hey, I can learn from this mistake." When something goes wrong, we ask ourselves what we can do better next time. People with this inner conviction love challenges and see failures as steps on their path to success.

Activity principle

Activity focus instead of results focus.
Man plays for the sake of playing. It is not about the result, the victory, but about the way there. An easy victory provides less motivation to stick with it than a narrow failure with the feeling of being able to do it. So it's not about 'celebrating' the result, but enriching the activity itself.

System principle

Content is king, but Context is god.
Our behaviour is shaped by frameworks. User experience, and the resulting behaviours, are subjective, holistic, emergent, situated, and dynamic. Growth Gamification looks at the higher-level system and works with its structures, rather than imposing game mechanisms on an activity in a lab-like fashion.

Competence principle

"In play, we are chasing our 'better selves'."
Intrinsic activities like play, sports & hobbies are characterized by becoming more challenging as you get better. Even in the hobby, where it is we ourselves who determine the 'rules', we look for the 'next step forward'. Homo Ludens proves it: Humans have a desire for performance in which he can grow.

Inherent principle

Inherent skill-based challenges.
Growth Gamification identifies challenges that already lie in the pursuit of the user's needs, their real-world context, and redesigns them in a motivating way. Sebastian Deterding, The Lens of Intrinsic Skill Atoms)

Negative feedback principle

Behavioural change and intrinsic motivation need time to develop. In order for the applied growth gamification to persist for a correspondingly long time, the negative feedback must dominate in corresponding growth gamification designs, whereby certain control variables can be continuously corrected and thus kept constant. On the other hand, positive feedback amplifies itself until the system is in danger of collapsing.

Guidelines

The following guidelines serve as orientation and motivation for us to make our vision a reality:

  • Promoting common definitions, of related genres such as serious games, game-based learning, simulations, gamification, and more, formulated in a consensual and collaborative manner, for clear and better delineation in communicating the issues to the outside world.
  • The creation of an open and official association, to create industry standards and represent the interests from behavioural economics & gamification on an official level.
  • To transparently provide knowledge, methodologies, and resources to the interested community, to improve quality and access to information.

Share the Growth Gamification Manifesto

Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on facebook
Facebook

Sign

You would also like to sign the manifesto as a person or institution/organisation? Then write to us!

Upload your institution's logo here as a png or jpg so we can use it for the signatories list.
en_USEnglish
Powered by TranslatePress »

Das Growth Gamification Manifest

Gamification hat viele 'Gesichter'. Es wird definiert als „Anwendung von Spielmechanismen in einem nicht-spielerischen Kontext“. Dies lässt fälschlicherweise vermuten, dass es darum geht klassische Spiele für den Arbeits- oder im Kundenkontext zu erfinden.

Der Begriff Gamification ist aber eher Leitbild, gar eine Hommage an das Spiel – ein Medium, das es höchst erfolgreich schafft, den Menschen emotional zu begeistern und über einen langen Zeitraum zu binden. Und es ist Sinnbild für eine Tätigkeit, die uns gewinnbringend öfters verlieren als siegen lässt. Wir glauben, dass durch Gamification der Mensch sich stetig selbst herausfordert und daran wächst und nennen unseren Ansatz deshalb „Growth Gamification“.

Intention

Wir kommunizieren all unsere Erfahrung, um die originäre Idee von Gamification im Sinne einer intrinsisch erfahrenen Motivation zu entwickeln und anwendbar zu machen. Wir entwickeln Growth Gamification durch vollkommene Transparenz unseres Tuns stetig weiter.

Wir distanzieren uns von einem extrinsischen Ansatz von Gamification, der primär darauf zielt, vorhandenen Bedingungen eine simple Spielidee überzustülpen. Auch distanzieren wir uns von den klassischen Belohnungsansätzen, die ebenfalls rein extrinsisch orientiert sind. 

Warum?

Mittlerweile fällt alles, was nur den Anschein eines spielerischen Verhaltens zeigt, unter Gamification. Zu diesen Ansätzen gehören Serious Games, Game-Based-Learning, Simulationen, Workshopspiele, Lego Serious Play, Gamification selbst und mehr.

Dieses Sammelbecken von völlig unterschiedlichen Ansätzen verwässert in unseren Augen den originären Gamification-Gedanken und nimmt ihm seine einzigartige Attraktivität.

Was?

Daher haben wir mit Growth Gamification eine Bezeichnung, die eine klar abgrenzbare Gamification-Kategorie definiert:

Growth Gamification nutzt all die Mechanismen, durch die sich intrinsisch motivierte Aktivitäten wie Spiel, Sport & Hobby auszeichnen und wendet sie auf reale Prozesse, Produkte, Programme und Interaktionen an.

Damit schaffen wir aber kein künstliches Spielumfeld, weder digital noch analog. Growth Gamification lernt vielmehr systematisch von diesen erfolgreichsten Bedingungen unter denen Menschen ihr natürliches Bestes geben, um diese auf weniger erfolgreiche (Arbeits-)Umgebungen, Produkte, Kundenerfahrungen oder Dienstleistungen zu übertragen und so ihre Attraktivität zu erhöhen.

Ziel von Growth Gamification ist es, dass Menschen – z.B. in ihrer Rolle als Mitarbeiter*in oder Kunde*in – unter diesen emotionaleren, stärker bindenden und sich selbst herausfordernden Bedingungen nicht nur ihr natürliches Bestes geben, sondern von diesem/ihrem Besten ausgehend lernen und Fortschritt erleben können. Ganz so wie im Spiel, wo er durch eben diese Bedingungen die spielerische Faszination erlebt.

Wie?

Wir wollen keine Trennung zwischen Spiel und Realität für den*die Nutzer*in. Vielmehr wollen wir mit Growth Gamification Situationen – den Alltag und das Arbeitsumfeld sowie den Umgang mit Produkten und Dienstleistungen – so gestalten, dass das natürliche intrinsische Lernverlangen eines jeden Menschen darin stetig herausgefordert wird. Denn wir glauben, dass der Mensch auf die Weise den wachsenden Herausforderungen des Lebens einfach(er) und erfolgreich(er) begegnet.  zwischen Spiel und Realitiät entstehen. 

Die 6 Basisprinzipien hinter Growth Gamification

Growth-Mindset-Prinzip

Dynamisches Selbstbild.
Keine andere Situation ist effektiver darin ein „Growth Mindset“ zu fördern. Dort gehen wir davon aus, dass wir uns immer weiterentwickeln und alles lernen können, wenn wir nur ausreichend viel Arbeit hineinstecken. „Hey, von diesem Fehler kann ich lernen." Wenn etwas schief läuft, fragen wir uns, was wir nächstes Mal besser machen können. Menschen mit dieser inneren Überzeugung lieben Herausforderungen und sehen in Misserfolgen Schritte auf ihrem Weg zum Erfolg.

Aktivitätsprinzip

Aktivitätsfokus statt Ergebnisorientierung.
Der Mensch spielt um des Spielens Willen. Es geht nicht um das Resultat, den Sieg, sondern um den Weg dorthin. Ein einfacher Sieg sorgt weniger für Motivation dranzubleiben, als ein knappes Scheitern mit dem Gefühl es schaffen zu können. Es gilt somit nicht das Resultat zu 'feiern', sondern die Aktivität selbst zu bereichern.

Systemprinzip

Content is king, but Context is god.
Unser Verhalten wird geprägt durch Rahmenbedingungen. Benutzererfahrung, und die daraus entstehenden Verhaltensweisen, sind subjektiv, ganzheitlich, emergent, situiert und dynamisch. Growth Gamification betrachtet das übergeordnete System und arbeitet mit dessen Strukturen, anstatt Spielmechanismen labormäßig auf eine Aktivität zu stülpen.

Kompetenzprinzip

"Im Spiel jagt der Mensch sein 'besseres Ich'."
Intrinsische Aktivitäten wie Spiel, Sport & Hobby zeichnen sich dadurch aus, dass sie herausfordernder werden, je besser man wird. Selbst im Hobby, wo wir es selbst sind, die die 'Regeln' bestimmen, suchen wir nach dem 'nächsten Schritt vorwärts'. Der Homo Ludens beweist es: Der Mensch hat Lust auf Leistung an der er wachsen kann.

Inherentprinzip

Inhärente fähigkeitsbasierte Herausforderungen.
Growth Gamification identifiziert Herausforderungen, die bereits in der Verfolgung der Bedürfnisse des Benutzers liegen, seinem realen Kontext, und gestaltet diese motivierend um. (siehe Sebastian Deterding, The Lens of Intrinsic Skill Atoms)

Negatives-Rückkopplungs-Prinzip

Verhaltensveränderung und intrinsische Motivation benötigen Zeit, um sich entwickeln zu können. Damit die angewendeten Growth Gamification auch dementsprechend lange bestehen können, musse die negative Rückkopplung in entsprechenden Growth Gamification Designs dominieren, wodurch bestimmte Regelgrößen laufend korrigiert und dadurch konstant gehalten werden können. Dem entgegengesetzt steht die positive Rückkopplung, die sich eigengesetzlich fortlaufen verstärkt, bis das System Gefahr läuft, zusammen zu brechen.

Leitlinien

Folgende Leitlinien dienen uns zur Orientierung und Motivation, damit unsere Vision Wirklichkeit wird:

  • Die Förderung gemeinsamer Definitionen, von verwandten Genre wie Serious Games, Game-Based-Learning, Simulationen, Gamification und mehr, die einvernehmlich und gemeinschaftlich formuliert werden, zur klaren und besseren Abgrenzung bei der Kommunikation der Themen nach außen.
  • Die Schaffung eines offenen und offiziellen Verband, zur Schaffung von Branchenstandards und Vertretung der Interessen aus der Verhaltensökonomie & Gamification auf offizieller Ebene.
  • Die transparente Bereitstellung von Wissen, Methodiken und Ressourcen für die interessierte Community, zur Verbesserung der Qualität und dem Zugang zu Informationen.

Teile das Growth Gamification Manifest

Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on facebook
Facebook

Unterzeichnende

Mitzeichnen

Sie möchten das Manifest als Person oder Institution/Organisation ebenfalls mitzeichnen? Dann schreiben Sie uns!

Laden Sie hier das Logo Ihrer Institution als png oder jpg hoch, damit wir es für die Unterzeichnenden-Liste nutzen können.
de_DEGerman
Powered by TranslatePress »